Play Online Casino with Russian Ruble

The Russian Ruble serves as the current form of currency for Russia. Each Ruble is divided into 100 kopeks. The Russian Ruble was used by members of the Soviet Union and Russian Empire. The Ruble was the first decimal currency (1704).


This Russian currency was first talked about and used during the 13th century. The casting of the coin formed by some form of cutting technology the Russians used centuries ago (hence the name of the coin). Even to this day, we do not know what kind of technology or machine was used to create the Ruble.Between the 14th and 17th century the coin was not considered a coin or form of currency. Instead, it was seen as a weight. Before the Russian Ruble was considered the official currency of Russia many people used a small silver object called denga. There were two versions of the denga. One was crafted in Novgorod and the other in Moscow. The Novgorod was a smaller version of the Denga and weighed 0.68 grammes.During the early 1700's there was an economic restart started by then Russian leader, Alexander the Great. Alexander the Great ordered that there be the printing of a 28 g (0.99 oz) silver ruble coin equal to 100 copper kopek coins. They did have a silver outline but contained mass amounts of gold and platinum.Fast forward to the end of the 18th century the Russian Ruble was altered, yet again to be comprised of 4 zolotniks 21 Kolya (just about 18 grammes) of silver.During the first World War, the value of the Ruble lost a portion of its value due to inflation. As the Soviet Union took over in the early 1920's, the Russian Ruble was change to Soviet Ruble. The were four versions of the Russian coins: 1⁄4, 1⁄2, 1, 2 and five kopeks.

Compare items
  • Total (0)